Raw Butter

P1010859

I was not one of those first grader’s who got to make butter in their class with the nice teacher. Lucky bastards. I only found out how easy it was to make butter about a year and a half ago when I read Oishi Eats’ post about her lil students making it in class. I was like whoa, that’s so cool. Who knew making butter was so easy? When I was in first grade I was still going to elementary school in Korea and let me tell you, there was no butter making projects involved. 

P1010857
butter fat

P1010858
buttermilk

So I did it finally. Made my own butter. I was motivated by the chance to use Organic Pastures’ raw cream. I’ve had their da bomb raw milk before so I knew the cream would be bomb too. The thought of having homemade raw butter was very exciting. I picked up the $10 (yes $10 per pint!) bottle of raw cream and got to work at home. Butter is formed when fat globules are agitated and break allowing the liquid fat to combine together into a mass (On Food and Cooking by Harold McGee). You can agitate the cream by bottle and hand, the manual way. I used my standing mixer with the paddle attachment. I just let the machine keep rolling a moderate speed while I watched on the side doing double duty washing dishes. And to my amazement the fat and the buttermilk were starting to separate.

P1010861

After the butter mass formed I drained out the buttermilk and rinsed the butter with cold water to rinse off any additional buttermilk on the surface. Then kneaded the mass a bit to squeeze out the trapped buttermilk. After that was done I folded in some fleur de sel. Of course I had to test out the butter right away. I toasted up a slice of Milton’s classic white bread and spread some of the freshly made salted raw butter. Oh my goodness, the flavor of the butter was mind-blowing. Rich, sweet, buttery. Buttery butter. It had so much flavor, not having had that pasteurization thing done. What a simple pleasure with immense satisfaction.

14 thoughts on “Raw Butter

  1. i have made butter many, many times in my youth, mostly when i was in boarding school and bored to pieces and trying to make whipped cream with the chipped melamine bowl and a bent tin fork in the sorry excuse of a kitchen in our dorm. arrrgh! even though the cream was pasteurized, it was still pretty good. but not so good on an ice cream sundae as a filling for profiteroles (which were surprisingly dorm kitchen hardy)

  2. Ahhhh, butter my favorite! When I was a kid at school we made it Laura Ingalls prairie style and colored it orange using grated carrots.

    Probably these days making butter at school is a no-no….

  3. hi santos,
    you’ve had your youth butter-making moment too! i always wondered about why whipped cream involved recipes said not to overwhip. had no idea butter was the result though.

    hi lily,
    you too with your youth butter-making. :) i really missed out!

    hi sarvi,
    wow freshly made bread and freshly made butter? that would be taking it to the next level. i don’t bake much so i usually get my fresh bread fill at bay cities. on saturday i drove home with a loaf in one hand cracklin the crust all over myself. good luck with your paper!

    • May I ask where you bought the cream? I have settled for Lucerne heavy cream, hopefully that will work. I guess at worst I will have some very well-mixed cream, and I’ll still eat that.

      • i got it at the saturday santa monica farmer’s market – the one on the promenade. not sure where else they go. i’m sure the lucerne one will be good, as butter or whipped cream. :)

  4. Hi Sarvi

    They will be at the farmers market in hollywood on Selma ave
    tomorrow and each Sunday thereafter 8 am – noonish

    Beso

    Bach

  5. YUM! I hear you… wish I had a first grade teacher like Jeni! I’ve never made butter before and am ready to try! Thanks for the inspiration! ;)

  6. Hi there, what did you do with your leftover buttermilk? I made the same with the organic pastures raw cream. So good…but now I don’t know what to do with the liquid, I thought I could use it to make more buttermilk, but now I’m not so sure. Any ideas?

    • hi sage,

      i ended up freezing it planning to use it in a recipe but i ended up throwing it away when i moved out of my apt. :/ did you taste the fresh buttermilk? it’s so delicious? one of the ideas i had was to use it as a light pasta sauce. maybe you can use it for baking or a custard?

Leave a Reply

