Zabaglione & Biscuit Roses de Reims

IMG_6658

I saw these beautiful french cookies at Surfas last week and just had to get them. The rosy color and airiness drew me. Biscuits Roses de Reim – even the name is beautitul. (Biscuit in French are actually cookies, not the fluffy buttery bread we eat here). Well after trying one of the delicious and light powder sugar-dusted biscuits, I immediately thought *zabaglione*. Since the biscuits were so light and crispy, I thought it would be a good match dipped into some warm zabaglione.

I referred to Marcella Hazan’s Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking for the recipe. The recipe is very simple and just takes a bit of whisking. But super easy. Why hadn’t I made this ealier?! This seems to be the looming question with a lot of things I make. I think I did make it once for tiramisu…

IMG_6656
IMG_6657

The results were delicious although I think I could have done with less Marsala, which always tastes a bit strong to me. I think I am sensitive to fortified wines and such. I used sweet and Marcella’s recipe says dry. Recipes I’ve seen on the internet uses both, sometimes the recipe just says marsala.

Well I whisked, whisked and whisked. Once the mixture frothed up I spooned it into an espresso cup and served it with the Biscuits Roses de Reim. Crispy, light and airy combined with warm, frothy and creamy. Yumm. I think prosecco zabaglione is next in line

Zabaglione

(Marcella Hazen)

.

4 egg yolks

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup dry Marsala wine

A double boiler

1. Put the egg yolks and sugar in the top of the double boiler — and whip the yolks with a whisk, or electric mixer, until they are pale yellow and creamy.

2. In the bottom of the double boiler — bring water to the brink of a simmer.

3. Fit the two double-boiler pans together. Add the Marsala, beating constantly. The mixture will begin to foam, the swell into a soft, frothy mass. The zabaglione is ready in 15 minutes or less, which it has formed soft mounds.

Zabaglione is usually served warm, either spooned into glass cups on its own, or over sliced ripe fruit, such as peaches or mango, or with plain cakes.

4 thoughts on “Zabaglione & Biscuit Roses de Reims

Leave a Reply

