Pain Perdu with Blueberry-Buttermilk Ice Cream & Blueberry Compote

pain perdu with blueberry-buttermilk ice cream & blueberry compote

I was completely spoiled recently for my birthday. Boy took me out to a wonderful seven course dinner at Hatfield’s, E&T took me out to mouth-watering, thin and crusty pizzas at Mozza. Yum to both! Many of the generous and thoughtful gifts were food-related~ a fondue set, electric warming buffet, beautiful Japanese plates, and several cookbooks, two of which were for ice cream. [*thank you*]

But ice cream? Wouldn’t I need an ice cream machine for that? Ohhh, I was going to receive an ice cream machine! With a hint from E a few of my friends put their noggins together to get me the Cuisinart ICE-50BC Series. Awesome. Now armed with Ben & Jerry’s and William Sonoma ice cream books, I excitedly waited for my machine.

cuisinar ice-50bc

I came home from work one day to find a humongous box in front of my door. And inside, my sleek commercial quality ice cream maker. It’s a beautiful machine and also it goes perfectly alongside my KitchenAid brushed nickel food processor and imperial grey mixer!

The first ice cream that popped into my head was creme fraiche. But somehow blueberry made its way in there. Then blueberry-buttermilk. I adapted Ben & Jerry’s recipe for blueberry ice cream, cutting down the cream and adding buttermilk. The blueberries didn’t break down at all when it was supposed to be macerating in the fridge. I tried smashing them up with my potato masher but in retrospect I should have whirled them through the food processor.

Well my first ice cream wasn’t a complete success because the ice cream turned out kind of hard. I think I cut down on the proportion of cream too much and I needed more blueberries. Sweeter blueberries. I know, it wasn’t berry season and I jumped the gun with this ice cream. But the flavor is good, tangy from the buttermilk and a bit fruity from the blueberries.

So now I had a very hard ice cream just sitting around my freezer. I wanted to pair it up with something though. It being imperfect and all, it needed a partner. Warm pain perdu and blueberry compote to echo the ice cream flavors seemed good to me. For the compote I cooked a container of blueberries with a few spoonfuls of sugar, a cinnamon stick, and a bit of water until the berries cooked down and looked syrupy.

For the pain perdu, the New Orleans style French toast, I flavored the egg milk mixture with tangelo zest, cinnamon, brown sugar and vanilla extract. I soaked the crust-sliced brioche slices generously in the liquid so that I would end up with a soft custardy type. Mmm, so good. I ate a whole piece while cooking up the remaining slices. I rarely make French toast, less than once a year, but I don’t know what the future holds for me. With the warm cinnamony blueberry compote and tangy ice cream I may have to make this combination more often.

11 thoughts on “Pain Perdu with Blueberry-Buttermilk Ice Cream & Blueberry Compote

  1. holy crap, that looks so delicious!!! now i’m so hungry and it’s all your fault. i’m so glad you like the ice cream maker we bought you! thanks to yangovich for the idea. did the recipe come from either cook book?

  2. thanks hannah!

    thanks imani (& other partners in crimes) for the ice cream machine. when i move out i’ll have an ice cream party. πŸ™‚

    hi justin,
    glad you liked it. mine teeth didn’t turn blue though. only yours silly!

  3. i feel wee bit guilty for doing my ice cream post a month after my birthday. πŸ™‚ ’cause now i’m getting bday wishes all over again. thanks everyone!

    *ellen – the name of that ice cream shall be incest?

    *gandy – soon i will turn into the round mad ice cream making genius. don’t worry, i’ll make all yall round with me. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

