Roman Cherry Tart with Almond Crust & Almond Ice Cream

roman cherry tart

Yes it’s cherry season. The beautiful ruby shiny skin is just a tease until you bite into one and you get sweet juiciness. I concurred (yesterday) that cherries are the perfect biteful. Working around the pit doesn’t bother me too much. After all I grew up eating bowlfuls of concord grapes which has way more many seeds and takes a lil bit more tongue work.

Although I am now enthusiastic about this season and thoroughly enjoyed my trek out to the Santa Monica farmer’s market last week, I have been slow to catch onto spring fever. I haven’t cooked seasonally in a while nor have I been on top of cooking out of my cookbooks.

With this teeny guilt I knew I had to turn back to the Sunday Suppers at Lucques cookbook and choose something glorious to remind myself why spring is great and how good it is to live in LA’s weather. For my sometimes m.i.a. sweet tooth I chose the Roman Cherry Tart with Almond Ice Cream.

I’ve been seeing cherries everywhere but just haven’t taken them up in fancy yet. But once I picked up a juicy bag from Marina Farms I was hooked. I refilled my supply of cherries at the farmer’s market and got to making the tart.

The tart shell was as simple as it was delicious, made just with ground toasted almonds, flour and melted butter. And the cherries, plump and juicy, were easy to pit while watching baseball with Boy to pass some of the time. My fingers were left ruby tinged with a trail of fruity stickiness – proof that I had done my job.

The cherries were cooked very lightly for a few minutes in a syrup mixture with half a vanilla bean. Now all I had to do was fill the tart and bake it off. The tart looked simply beautiful. Glazed like a French fruit tart, the shell evenly pressed along the edges. That alone was victory alone for me considering how bad I am with dough and matters baking related.

But that wasn’t the end of it all. Almond Ice Cream was to turn this tart dessert into something really special. The ice cream recipe is superb, creamy, nutty and studded with crunchy roasted almonds. The combination of the cherry tart and almond ice cream was soooo good. The almond flavor of the ice cream echoed in the buttery tart shell and the juicy plump texture of the cherries remained intact.

I confess, I indulged this weekend.

roman cherry tart + almond ice cream

9 thoughts on “Roman Cherry Tart with Almond Crust & Almond Ice Cream

  1. Did you make the tart shell yourself? It looks perfect! In fact, the entire pie looks perfect. I *heart* pie. Seriously, it’s one of my favorite desserts.

  2. You know that saying “putting a face to the name” well today I got to put a flavor to the picture. Yum!!! I was lucky enough to try some of the almond ice cream and boy was it delicious. It totally made my day. Creamy, creamy almond flavor with the contrast of the crunchy, toasted almonds… I was in heaven. I don’t know how you got such an “almondy” flavor into the ice cream but it was so freaking perfect. Promise me that it’ll me one of the desserts at your restaurant.

  3. i see you’re baking now.. it looks so yummy. i love the taste of baked cherries.. delicioso. it was good seeing you FINALLY and we should get together more often. i’m heading to hawaii next week… need any souvenirs?

  4. hi ellen, yes i made the tart shell! it was pretty easy since all i had to do was press the dough into the pan. i heart tarts too.

    hi justin, we tried the ice cream in its best moments – the beginning. now it’s hardened up too much but man, when it was still a bit soft? heaven.

    hi julie, wish i made two tarts so you could have tasted the ice cream and cherries together! we have invent a way to keep the ice cream soft somehow.

    hi bbn, have fun in hawaii! wow lucky.im just baking a tiny bit now and then. yes let’s get together for food soon again. no souvenirs needed but share some pics when you get back!

  5. That looks SO pretty. I really want to try making that ice cream. Have you tried that recipe in the book for molasses cookie sandwiches with plum sorbet? It’s divine. The sorbet is amazing!

  6. Just a quick note to say how great your site is. I have tried many of the recipes you posted on your old blog and tried some with a twist of my own. Thanks for all your hard work on this site!

  7. hi grant,

    oh yeah the plum sorbet! i used to eye that recipe before i got my ice cream machine. now i have no excuses.

    hi there zilli, thanks for reading! glad to hear you’ve tried some of the recipes. i’ll try to keep up on adding new recipes. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Nectarine Turnovers with Dried Blueberries « immaeatchu

Leave a Reply

