Dungeness Crab Salad with Avocado, Beets & Lime

dungeness crab salad w/avocado, beets & cress

The perfect spring salad of refreshing dungeness crab, creamy avocado, peppery cress, and ruby roasted beets, spooned over with a simple lime vinaigrette of minced jalapeno and shallots. This salad sounded and looked delicious when I came across in Sunday Suppers at Lucques cookbook, but it surpassed my expectations.

It actually made me like beets for a few minutes. In fact the beets tasted damned good in the salad and the combinations of the different flavors were stellar. I cheated with the beets though – instead of roasting them myself I bought roasted beets from Trader Joe’s. The salad was supposed to be a quick weekend lunch. I couldn’t dare roasted beets in my oven for 45 minutes, wait for them to cool and then have to peel them! Plus I had to pit 2.25 pounds of cherries for the beautiful cherry tart in the last post.

I picked up the crab from Santa Monica Seafood Company. The seafood there is expensive but they are so fresh. The crab meat was truly excellent. Don’t try to skimp by getting packaged or canned crab meat. It won’t be the same. Goin says “If you’re feeling less extravagant or can’t get to the fish market, a crabless version of this dish makes a pretty good salad, too.”

I left out the creme fraiche which was to top the crab and it wasn’t missed much. I’m sure the creme fraiche would have made it even more delicious but the salad on its own was delicious and refreshing. Plus I’m trying to watch my waistline so it all worked out.

The vinaigrette is composed of 1/4 cup finely diced shallots, 3 tbsp seeded, diced jalapenos, 1/3 cup lime juice and 1/2 cup of olive oil. The rest of the salad is just sliced avocado, roasted beets, and extra fresh dungeness crab meat. Try it out. It just might make your weekend a lil bit fresher.

9 thoughts on “Dungeness Crab Salad with Avocado, Beets & Lime

  1. this salad does look refreshing!..i’m also not much of beet eater….however, the vinagrette seems simple enough to make…

  2. Would you consider posting the actual text of the recipes you’ve used in future posts? I’m not sure if there are any (legal?) consequences like that, but I would really appreciate seeing the original recipe with your photos. Thanks!

  3. Vinaigrette simple enough for even Han Nah to make? ; )

    I would actually recommend against posting original recipes unless you have the author’s permission. Posting your own personal versions or adaptations, however, would probably be okay.

  4. How do you manage to have time to make it look PRETTY?
    For me it’s good enough that it taste good but presentation is lacking.

  5. hi hannah, yes try making the vinaigrette! another recipe to add to your list.

    hi acidspit, a lot of the recipes i used i have linked to the website that has published them. but book recipes i usually don’t copy word for word on my blog mostly for copyright reasons. (although i have been guilty of posting a few of marcella hazan’s recipes). if you like the suzanne goin recipes i’ve covered i highly recommend the sunday suppers at lucques cookbook. i’ll probably post a recipe now and then but depending on source and type of recipe. thanks!

    hi justin, i want the salad now. the crab was super fresh which made me happy. yay.

    hi yoonyang, is this more hannah ellen rivalry? keep it on the courts! 😉

    hi bill, for this one i just copied the picture in the book. 🙂 i know, what a cheat i am.

Leave a Reply

