Romesco Pulled Pork Reborn, Part 1

IMG_6914

Back in May I was left with a large container of romesco pulled pork, leftovers from an event that I did. I ended up freezing it because I had way too much other stuff in my fridge that needed my attention asap. But now is the time! I came up with a few dishes the pork would be useful for.

First up I have a hash. I love hash! Especially if it comes with piles of house-made corned beef. But romesco pulled pork is not a bad substitute at all. I finished this dish in the oven to cook the egg I cracked over the top of the potatoes and pork. The egg cooked up perfectly with the yolk still creamy in the middle and edges of the pulled pork all crusty and brown. The best part was when I picked up a crusty string of romesco pulled pork and poked it into the yolk. Ahh yeah.

Romesco Pulled Pork Hash with Poblano, Bacon & Egg
(inspired by Suzanne Goin’s Sunday Suppers at Lucques)

Serves 2

3/4 lb baby yukon gold
1/2 cup diced poblano
1/2 cup sliced shallots
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp minced rosemary
2 slices cooked bacon not too crispy, sliced thin
2 eggs
2/3 cup romesco pulled pork
thinly sliced scallion and minced parsley for garnish

2 individual baking dishes


Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook potatoes in a pot of salted water until tender. Drain when done, about 15-20 minutes, and let it steam for few minutes in its pot with the lid on. Then squish each potato with the heel your hand about halfway down. Use a folded up papertowel to protect your hand since the potatoes will still be very hot. Run your knife through each potato a few times to break up large pieces and the skin. Your looking for a rustic look here – some small pieces and some big pieces.

Heat a large pan over high heat for few minutes then add olive oil. Decrease the heat to medium high and add the potatoes in a single layer and do not disturb it. You want the potatoes to brown and crisp up around the edges. If your pan is hot enough the potatoes will not stick to the surface. Season with salt and pepper. When the potatoes look nicely browned flip them over with a flat spatula to brown the other side. Add bacon, romsemary, poblano, shallots and garlic to the pan. Add more olive oil if needed. Continue to let the potatoes brown and ingredients cook, using your spatula to flip them to brown evenly.

Divide the mixture between two individual baking dishes and top each with 1/3 cup of romesco pulled pork. Crack an egg into the middle of each dish and season with salt and pepper. Bake for 15 minutes. Squeeze a few drops of lemon juice just over the meat part. Garnish with scallion and parsley.

I served mine with Louisiana hot sauce and jalapeno aioli. I cheated. The jalapeno aioli was just really mayo whirled with a jalapeno, seeds and all. But real aioli would be excellent. Definitely next time. The my cheating jalapeno aioli didn’t turn out spicy at all but added a nice creaminess to the dish while the acidic L-hot sauce added a nice zing.

5 thoughts on “Romesco Pulled Pork Reborn, Part 1

  1. hi su-lin, i made a two batches. so for breakfast and dinner! 🙂 i really wouldn’t mind having this for any meal though.

  2. Thanks so much for the recipe– I wasn’t sure if you had remembered my comment from a couple of posts ago, but I really appreciate it! :>

  3. hi acidspit, yes i remember! when i’m cooking for myself i usually don’t measure but i’ll try my best to keep on top of it. hopefully it’ll make up for the lack of cookbook recipes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

