Romesco Pulled Pork Reborn, Part 2

IMG_6921

I came across Yves Camdeborde’s recipe for savory buckwheat crepes while food surfing the web. Brilliant I thought, this would be a perfect way to use up my romesco pulled pork.

I stuffed my crepes with the shredded pork, parmesan, avocado and arugula. I really wanted to use manchego in the crepes but since I had grated parmesan in my fridge that I’ve had forever I practiced some food shopping restraint this time.

But no manchego related complaints here. The combination of the tender pulled pork, deep chili flavored romesco, nutty parmesan, creamy cool avocado and the peppery baby arugula was quite delicious. I may sneak in a few very thinly sliced red onion in there next time though for a refreshing bite.

The combinations are endless really and I’m looking forward to my next batch of buckwheat crepes.

What would you stuff your buckwheat crepes with?

Buckwheat Crepes with Romesco Pulled Pork, Arugula & Parmesan
(adapted from Yves Camdeborde’s recipe)

Serves 4

for the crepes:
1/2 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups water
1 large egg, beaten

1 cup romesco pulled pork, warm
1/4 cup grated parmesan
handful of baby arugula
avocado, sliced and juiced with lemon


Starting with the crepes…
Whisk the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the wet ingredients and whisk until well mixed. Let it rest for 30 minutes covered at room temperature.

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Heat a large non-stick pan over medium heat (didn’t take exact measurements of my pan) and lightly grease with vegetable oil, using a papertowel to soak up any excess oil. Pour in batter using a 1/3 cup measuring cup and swirl pan to spread the batter evenly. Cook until crepes are lightly brown and edges crusty. Flip and continue cooking for 1 minute. (Adjust the heat of your stove as necessary. Mine is a weird electrical one so the heat varies a lot.) You need 4 crepes for this recipe.

Sprinkle each half of the four crepes with 1 tablespoon of grated parmesan. Fold over and bake for 3 minutes. Open up the crepes and lay a few avocado slices on one half of the cheesed side (so a quarter of the crepe), season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle the warm romesco pulled pork on top of the avocado and and on the other cheesed side top with a small handful of arugula. Fold the crepe over the filled side and then fold again. Serve with the arugula pocket on the bottom and the avocado/pork pocket on the top.

3 thoughts on “Romesco Pulled Pork Reborn, Part 2

  1. With recipes like yours, I’d gladly be reborn as pulled pork! πŸ™‚ Looks absolutely amazing. Thanks for reminding me.. that buckwheat flour in my fridge is dying to be transformed into some crepes.

  2. hi hannah, it’s good i tell ya!

    hi julie, i only realized after i made the crepes that the bag of buckwheat flour said to keep in fridge or freezer! thanks for being my reliable taster.

Leave a Reply

