Nectarine Turnovers with Dried Blueberries

nectarine turnover w/dried blueberries

I panicked the day spring became summer. I realized no asparagus had passed through my kitchen, not enough cherries had graced the table, no fava beans had been depodded, blanched & peeled. What a bad cook I’ve been.

I promptly added asparagus and bing cherries onto my grocery list only to be thwarted by my own laziness. What I really wanted to make were cherry turnovers. But what I really didn’t want to do was pit cherries. The cherries were a pinch to pit for that tart I made back in early June but still my own mind crushed my cherry idea.

Instead I picked up nectarines which would require only a quick chopping. I was only motivated to make turnovers because of the fact that I had 1/2 of Thomas Keller’s buttery pastry dough in my freezer. I’m thinking maybe it would be a good idea to make a bunch of dough at once and keep it in storage.

That may result in many tarts, pies & turnovers though. That could be a good or a bad thing.

Nectarine Turnovers with Dried Blueberries
makes 4 good-sized turnovers

1/2 chilled Thomas Keller’s buttery pastry dough
2 nectarines
2-3 tbsp granulated sugar
1/4 cup dried blueberries
1 tsp cornstarch
pinch of salt
4 tsp turbinado sugar

1. Preheat oven 375 degrees.
2. Chop nectarines about 1/3 inch cubes. No need to be exact, just not too big as to poke holes in the dough and not too small as to become mush.
3. Toss with 2 tbsp of sugar and taste. Is it sweet enough? If not add more.
4. Toss with blueberries, salt and cornstarch.
5. Divide dough into 4 balls and roll out on a floured board. While you work on one keep the others in the fridge. Roll out to about 1/8 inch thick and into a circular shape. Again, no need to be exact. I think mine came out to be around 6 to 7 inches or so.
6. Divide the fruit mixture evenly among the four rolled out dough without getting too much juice onto the dough. Eggwash the edges and crimp, eggwash the top and sprinkle with turbinado sugar and bake for about 20-25 minutes.
7. Serve warm with chilled cream or creme fraiche. Or if you wanna cut down on the fat consume with a cold glass of reduced fat milk. I don’t go lower than reduced fat. That’s a rule.

One thought on “Nectarine Turnovers with Dried Blueberries

Leave a Reply

