Comfort in a Dish – Meatloaf

IMG_7393

The Girls and I got together for a midweek holiday dinner and I offered to bring dinner. I wanted to stick to something comforting and simple so decided on meatloaf, one of my favorite comfort dishes. I went with my favorite turkey meatloaf recipe adding a twist with a version of ras el hanout, a Moroccan spice blend (or as Wiki more accurately states “a popular blend of herbs and spices is used across the Middle East and North Africa”). I added chopped red bell pepper, parsley and cilantro to the meat mixture while leaving out the tomato paste, Worcestershire, and thyme. I kept the old-fashioned ketchup glaze on top of the meatloaf for tradition’s sake.

IMG_7397

I made a vegetable stew made with chickpeas, zucchini, carrots and tomato. I also spiced this with the ras el hanout I made for the meatloaf. This stew was simple, rustic and delicious with the warm spices running through it. I think this is going to be a stew I’m going to turn too often when I need something fast and simple.

IMG_7395

To sop up any juices couscous was in order. I would love a couscousier someday, perhaps when I get more acquainted with Moroccan cuisine. But until then I applied the quick method of pouring hot water over a bowl of couscous, sealing it with plastic wrap and letting it steam. I added chopped parsley and cilantro to it after fluffing it with a fork.

I packed everything up and off I went to the dinner house. The Girls loved it! Great company, comfort food, and a relaxing time – what holidays should really be about.

*Take a look at the beautiful dessert my friend brought to dinner!

7 thoughts on “Comfort in a Dish – Meatloaf

  1. That was one of the best meals I had in a long time. I was sooo stuffed, yet I still wanted to eat more because I loved the way everything tasted! Next time you make dinner, I am going to wear pants with an elastic waist band.

  2. hello everyone,

    for those of you who ate the meatloaf, glad you liked it! for those of you who didn’t, try it! wish i made extra and stored it. would be useful right about now when i’m craving it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! « immaeatchu

Leave a Reply

