Lan’s Pork Ribs

IMG_7512

Way back in November I attended my friend Terence’s surprise birthday party down at his parents’ place in the O.C. There was a huge group of us and there was a even bigger spread of food courtesy of his culinarily talented mom. Everything was so delicious but I was hooked on her ribs. I ate one too many with must get her recipe running through my mind. Luckily I was able to get my hands on the recipe without any finagling.

I was surprised at how simple the recipe was – soy sauce and fish sauce as the prime seasoners. I was expecting a much more complex mix of ingredients. The ribs were grilled up and charred on the edges which completely added to its already dashing appeal. People, the unvegetarians, went crazy for this.

So I finally tried the recipe out and yes still delicious! I didn’t grill mine so the ribs came out a little differently than my initial experience with it. I missed the charring and the smokiness but I wasn’t about to clean the dirty gas-driven grill nor go fetch a heavy canister of propane. Boy and I ravished these ribs along with some green rice (brown jasmine rice cooked with cilantro-mint-scallion water) and sambal.

Lan’s Pork Rib Marinade

1 yellow onion
1 1/2 cup soy sauce
3/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 cup water
1 tbsp salt
1 tbsp fish sauce
black pepper

Chop the onion up and then whirl everything in the blender. There’s enough marinade for about 3 rack of pork ribs.

6 thoughts on “Lan’s Pork Ribs

  1. hi santos,
    i forgot to include in the post that the green rice is inspired by suzanne goin’s green rice which also has parsley. i left that out of mine since parsley is not to hot in viet cooking. i didn’t include the rice in the picture bc i thought it wasn’t green enough (for color contrast) but i should have!)

    hi hannah, dude you are like cookin it up. good job!

  2. I should forward this to Lan – she would get such a kick out of your posting! I’m sure she’d mention it to all her church friends. 😀 And you’re right, Lan is a good cook. What you’ll find is that most of her dishes are very simple. That just goes to show you that you don’t need to over-complicate things to make food tasty.

Leave a Reply

