Poppy Seed Waffle-Eggs Florentine with Parmesan Hollandaise

P1000176

Believe it or not I still have some poppy seed dishes left in me. Waffles have been on my mind lately from my feeble attempts to rethink the popular chicken and waffle. I made poppy seed belgian waffles and topped it with sauteed spinach and shallots, eggs mollet and parmesan hollandaise. Voila! A waffle version of eggs florentine. It happened by accident actually. First I thought of which vegetables to pair the waffle with. Then I thought real hard about the sauce and I could not come up with much but hollandaise. Parmesan hollandaise? Even better. Bacon lardons were also part of the mix but I made the dish vegetarian this time around for my vegetarian friends. Do include bacon lardons in yours!

P1000177

Ooh look at that yolk oozing out. I loved the poppy seeds in the waffles too. They added a nice crunch of course and extra nuttiness. My friends loved the dish.

7 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Waffle-Eggs Florentine with Parmesan Hollandaise

  1. how did you do your poached egg? it looks perfect!!! mine are always really ugly.

    this looks fantastic. hope you don’t mind if i steal the idea.

  2. hi justin,
    glad you liked it. thanks for eating and tasting it even with your tummy ache!

    hi peter,
    i like eggs benedict but rarely ever order it. but i’m liking this crunchy nutty waffle take on it. this was my first time making hollandaise sauce. and more to come.

    hi scott,
    now only if trader joe’s would come out with an instant waffle eggs florentine, right? 🙂

    hi hannah,
    did you taste this one?

    hi sue,
    i placed the egg in simmering water for 6 minutes then ice bathed it. i’m glad this came out. it was my first time with an eggs mollet.

Leave a Reply

