The Hannah & Imani Dinner

I decided to cook two of my close friends a nice birthday dinner this year instead of buying them a gift. This would be perfect timing since I had just fully moved into my very own apartment yesterday. Today was the dinner. Talk about breaking in the apartment right? I told each friend of the plan and told them they could bring one guest to celebrate with them. I cooked, they ate, we drank. I feel totally settled into my apartment now.

P1000217
Heirloom Tomato Salad, Nicoise Olives, Feta Mousse, Meyer Lemon Olive Oil

I started them off with a simple seasonal salad adapted from Gavin Kaysen’s Greek Salad with Feta Mousse recipe. I dressed my version with meyer lemon olive oil, lemon juice and a touch of sherry vinegar. I sprinkled fresh marjoram on top which I’ve been getting addicted to lately. The aroma is so lovely. The creamy milder feta mousse was a nice departure from the crumbled sorta deal one usually eats in a Greek salad. Sippin’: Gainey Vineyard 2006 Riesling. (thnx tash!)

P1000219
Grilled Duck Confit, Muhammara, Duck Fat Fries with Rosemary Fleur de Sel, Arugula

Next up was duck confit. I know you’re probably thinking again?! I love duck confit. Also it’s pretty fuss free and you can prep a whole batch ahead of time and easily crisp up the skin right before serving. I grilled them this time for a change instead of throwing them in a blistering oven. I paired the duck confit with muhammara which is a Middle Eastern dip usually served with pita as an appetizer. It’s made with roasted bell peppers, walnuts and pomegranate molasses. Now I can’t waste all the that duck fat that was left over. Duck fat fries were in order. These were made with yukon gold potatoes and seasoned with mortar & pestled rosemary fleur de sel. These were addicting. A small bundle of arugula was lightly dressed and tucked between the duck and the fries. Sippin’: Newman’s Own 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon.

P1000220
Nectarine Crumble, Honeyed Ice Yogurt

I kept the dessert super simple but super delicious. Plump juicy nectarines from the farmer’s market were baked with a delicious brown sugar, oat and almond crumble mixture and served with homemade ice yogurt sweetened with acacia honey. Sippin: Lindemann’s Peche Lambic.

I think my friends enjoyed the dinner. Thanks to Boy for helping too. 🙂

9 thoughts on “The Hannah & Imani Dinner

  1. I officially fell off the veggie wagon for this meal, and by golly, was it worth it. And now I feel rather silly for thinking “duck confit” was the Muhammara — I hadn’t realized it referred to the entire dish. Well, I’ll be damned. I spend a year and a half in France and got my university degree in French, and I’m still an ignorant American.

    Thank you again Yoony for the meal, and thanks to Imani for bringing me as her date!

  2. you’re very welcome dinner guests! and thank you readers for your comments! ! 🙂 now that i’m getting settled into my own place hopefully there will be a lot more summer cookins to come.

Leave a Reply

