Beer-Battered Soft-Shell Crab Taco, Heirloom Tomato Salsa Fresca, Avocado

P1010099

Tacos being one my favorite things I knew I had to make a soft-shell crab version. First I prepared a heirloom tomato salsa fresca – heirloom tomato, red onion, jalapeno. A squeeze of lime and sprinkling of chopped cilantro later, the salsa was done. The batter started at one cup of flour and one 12oz bottle of cold beer. The mixture looked a little thin so I added a few more spoonfuls of flour. I dipped the quartered pieces of soft-shell crab in the batter and fried it at approximately 350-360 degrees. I warmed up corn tortillas over an open burner until they were softened and slightly toasted on the edges. In went crunchy pieces of crab, sliced avocado, shredded cabbage and the delicious heirloom tomato salsa. Lime and Valentina hot sauce on the side, cold beer to wash it all down – it was a good meal.

4 thoughts on “Beer-Battered Soft-Shell Crab Taco, Heirloom Tomato Salsa Fresca, Avocado

  1. were it not for the chermoula soft-shell crab, this would have been my favorite meal of late

    the salsa was light, fresh and absolutely delicious

Leave a Reply

