New York Steak Pepperonata

P1010204

I felt like eating steak one day so I head over to the butcher shop and tried to decide on which cut to get. Being that I should be on a budget (although I haven’t acted like it) I perused the cold case for something affordable. I saw $7.99 beef shoulder steaks. Whoa, so cheap! But then I saw the Prime USDA New York Steak and it was over. I got two for just under $40. Yup, pricey, but sooo worth it.


P1010205

I seasoned the steak with freshly cracked black pepper and kosher salt and seared it up in a combination of olive and butter. When one side got nicely crusted I flipped the steak and continued cooking. The steaks could have been cooked about two minutes less but it was still at a delicious stage although a little past my preferred medium rare state. Well there’s always next time when I’m buying $20 steaks to do it right. But these were so delicious, well seasoned with salt and so crusty. Boy and I wondered why we don’t do this more often. I made a very simple peperonata with lipstick peppers and onions sauteed in olive oil with garlic, marjoram, and red wine vinegar. I forgot the capers but that’s ok – they weren’t missed at all. Thinking about the steak at 9:30 in the morning is making me hungry.

9 thoughts on “New York Steak Pepperonata

  1. Everytime I go to the store these days, I wander over to the meat section and stare longingly at the steaks before heading over to a cheaper meal option. So, thanks for allowing me to live vicariously through you!

  2. hi hannah,
    what kind of steak did you have?

    hi peter,
    nothing like a good piece of steak, right? 🙂

    hi justin,
    yeah you lucky.

    hi imani,
    maybe we can do a b.y.o.steak get together. eat drink, drink booze.

    hi asianmommy,
    steak is indeed simple but so full of flavor.

    hi marie,
    i have very little will power. 🙂 next time i think i will try the $8/lb steak and see how it goes. but it’s good to splurge once in a while.

  3. WoW that piece of prime is so beautifully marbled. Explosion of juiciness in every bit. I just bought some fillet mignon from costco and after reading this I should of splurge for the prime. 😦

Leave a Reply

