The Matt & Kimi Dinner

P1010228

I recently presented my engaged couple friends with a special dinner in honor of their upcoming wedding. I started them off with an Arpege Egg, the genius recipe of Chef Alain Passard of L’Arpege in Paris. I had this at Manresa last year and fell in love with it. It’s basically a coddled egg yolk topped with tangy whipped cream and maple syrup. The combination of the flavors are amazing will brighten up your tastebuds for the meal.

P1010232

Next was Leeks Vinaigrette, Crispy Jamon Serrano, Fried Quail Egg. I adapted the dish after a leeks vinaigrette recipe with speck and fried egg. I substituted in jamon serrano and fried quail egg for my own smaller version. The tender poached leeks with the whole grain mustard vinaigrette was lovely, made even better by the ham chip and crusty-around-the-edges fried quail egg.

P1010239

I paired the first two courses with Parrone Sparkling Wine, an Argentinean wine by Alphonso DeRose of DeRose Vineyards in California . This one was really enjoyable with a clean and light fruity flavor and described as having a “fruity nose accented with a touch of toast and minerality that you would typically find in French champagnes.” I’m looking forward to my next bottle of this.

P1010233

I made a second batch of boudin blanc just for this dinner, this time adding a swig of cognac for an extra layer of flavor. For the third course I served Bacon-Wrapped Homemade Boudin Blanc, Roasted Grape, Potato Apple Mash. I really like the contrast of the smokiness of the bacon and the mild and creamy boudin. I served it with a delicious potato apple mash with a tinge of rosemary and roasted red grapes. A drizzle of aged balsamic finished the dish.

I paired the boudin with Michel Leon Gewurtztraminer 2007, which had a strong floral nose but much more balanced when drunk. The silky texture of the wine went well with the dish well but was a little too sweet. But my friends were really digging this wine so it wasn’t a complete flop.

P1010234

For the second meat course I served Braised Short Rib, Parmesan Oatmeal, Roasted Butternut Squash & Pearl Onion. I used Daniel Boulud’s short rib recipe and the results were fantastic. The meat was meltingly tender and the sauce very deep and rich. I served the short ribs with a few roasted vegetables and parmesan oatmeal made with steel-cut oatmeal, beef stock, thyme, and onion.

P1010240

I served Stangeland Pinot Noir 2005 with the shortibs. All of us loved the pinot which is decribed on the winery’s website as such: “Firm tannin structure spells good aging potential. Fresh and energetic with floral notes and black cherry aromas give way to creamy lingering finish.” Simon, the wine buyer over at Larchmont Wines, picked out this delicious wine for me.

I did a simple cheese plate between the savory and the sweet courses. It contained Unie Kaas Robusto, Goat Milk Brie, Roquefort with Honeycomb.

P1010236
Cake House Cheesecake

I knew the boy of relationship loved cheesecake so I purchased a Korean cheese cake from Cake House, which is way lighter and more fluffier than the regular version. I knew this would satisfy both the boy who loves cheesecake and the girl who doesn’t like her desserts that sweet. I added my own touch by serving the cheese cake with Red Wine Poached Dates.

5 thoughts on “The Matt & Kimi Dinner

  1. I feel like I could eat a hundred of the Arpege eggs. And I did eat a hundred of the serrano ham chips. Everything was really tasty.

  2. I was looking forward to that dinner for weeks knowing my host’s culinary skills, but it completely exceeded my expectations 🙂 The menu was so original and totally seasonal. I wanted to lick my plate after each dish. My favorite course was the braised short rib. First time I had savory oatmeal, it was delicious. The meat was so tender and the choice of wine impeccable.

  3. yum! i can’t wait til my birthday next year. i don’t know if i can wait that long.

    maybe i’ll marry allison! and we’ll have a special proposition 8 style feast! what would that taste like?

Leave a Reply

