Raw Tuscan Kale Salad with Walnuts, Pecorino

P1010893

I kept hearing about raw kale in salads so I decided to try out for myself. I sliced up very thinly a bundle of destemmed Tuscan kale (also known as cavolo nero, dinosaur kale and Lacinato). I dressed it with lemon juice and extra virgin olive oil and added pungent salty pecorino and nutty warm toasted walnuts. This salad really surprised me. It was delicious, hearty and satisfying. Also mentally satisfying knowing that I was getting all this nutritious greens in me.

5 thoughts on “Raw Tuscan Kale Salad with Walnuts, Pecorino

  1. love raw bitter slightly stinky salads. reminds me of me. ha! i am counting on you to keep ludobites so popular that he must extend until the end of september when i can finally make it over there!!

  2. haha you’re funny. i was not reminded of you when i was eating it! 🙂 i’m going to ludobites next week. i read someone’s post on it this morning (way too early) and it made me so hungry. yes let’s cross our fingers for a ludobites extension. hope you can make it back.

  3. huge fan of raw kale salads. black kale is a wee bit harder to find in my neck of the woods, and it reminds so much of chard… nonetheless, your “recipe” echos mine, with the exception of red wine vinegar and use of pinenuts and asiago.

    Btw, we went to Ludobites last week. The results were… Gastyly compared to our experiences there in ’08. I blame it on the

Leave a Reply

