Skirt Steak a la Bordelaise

P1010836

One day I decided to make veal stock. I purchased a 24 quart stock pot, 10 lbs of veal bones, a large chinois and got to work. I went with the French Laundry recipe involved no roasting of the bones, but an important blanching step, veal stock #1, veal stock #2, and remouillage. Oh, and lots and lots of skimming. The ever funny and entertaining Carol can tell you better than I can what the process was like.

The simmering veal stock made my apartment smell so good. Savory, meaty, comforting. I hated washing that big ass pot but the rewards were well worth it. The reward being a meal of delicious steak bordelaise. I used Bouchon’s recipe which actually did not call for bone marrow, a traditional ingredient. But sadly I could not get my hands on any so it didn’t really matter. When I bit into the juicy skirt steak with sauteed mushroom and bordelaise sauce spooned over it I was one happy girl. The sauce was deep, flavorful and so delicious. How could it not be? After all, delicious homemade veal stock reduced with red wine and paired with steak is a stellar thing. I reduced the remaining veal stock into demi-glace and froze it in one tablespoon measures. My pantry feels a bit more proper having homemade demi-glace ready to go.

3 thoughts on “Skirt Steak a la Bordelaise

  1. wtf, i can bathe my dog in that stock pot! my neighbour buys bone marrow from a butcher on pico, one of the non-glatt ones….i’ll get the name for you.

  2. hi karina,
    yeah seriously, now i have a big ass pot and nowhere to put it. i gotta make more stock i guess!

    hi justin,
    yeah that was a yummy meal.

Leave a Reply

