Raw Purple Asparagus & Cannellini Salad with Mint

P1010980

When I laid my eyes on the beautiful hued purple asparagus I knew I had to make something with it. As the weather got warmer I had salad increasingly more on my mind. I sliced the thick purple asparagus stalks thinly on a bias and tossed it with cannellini beans, sweet onion, mint chiffonade, lemon juice and olive oil. How simple is that for a summery dinner? The beans provide enough oomph that the salad can serve as a entree perhaps with a tear of crusty bread to accompany it. Purple asparagus are sweeter than green ones and having it raw retained a juicy refreshing crunch that complemented the creamy beans. Everyone who’s had this salad has loved it so far including me.

7 thoughts on “Raw Purple Asparagus & Cannellini Salad with Mint

  1. raw baby! the first time i made this salad i actually used purple asparagus and thick green asparagus but turns out purple asparagus is much sweeter and i even got a lil bit of bitterness from the big green asparagus. so now i stick to just purple. the skinnier green asparagus may be sweeter though. but yeah, raw purple asparagus is so delicious! and the skin is super thin too so you don’t even need to peel it which is nice so the you can see the color contrast.

    • it looks so beautiful. of course i can’t find it here, but i found some skinny asparagus from…somewhere…possibly in asia?? i’ll try this salad with that. thanks for idea, you come up with great salads!

  2. Raw asparagus?
    Raw PURPLE asparagus?
    I’m reminded of the children’s rhyme about the purple cow.
    Except that I’d LOVE to see some purple asparagus here in Mayberry.
    If I ever do find some, I’ll think of you as I eat it like a starving pig.
    BTW, I just tilled the garden, and next week I’ll be planting my heirloom tomatoes again. I love to see the looks on the faces of my guests when I serve them Brown, ‘black’, or purple tomatoes!

    -Dale
    http://www.examiner.com/x-8396-Orlando-Burger-Examiner

  3. hi dale,
    i was very excited when i spotted the purple asparagus. ooh you’re so lucky you can grow heirloom tomatoes! i think my plant would die within a week if i tried. i love using different colors of tomatoes in salads. the heirlooms are such lookers.

Leave a Reply

