Chilled Heirloom Tomato Soup with Watermelon, Basil, Habanero

P1020260

It’s almost the end of September and yet I find myself holding on to the heels of summer. Feeling like I was running out of precious time I loaded up on heirloom tomatoes, corn and peppers from the farmer’s market last weekend. Feeling inspired by the produce I wanted to keep things very simple but unique at the same time. I tried out the combination of tomato and watermelon. I had felt hesitant about this pairing when I’ve seen it on menus before but I knew with sweet heirloom tomatoes it would be delicious.

P1020251

I skinned and pureed reddish hued heirloom tomatoes and seasoned it with fleur de sel and freshly cracked black pepper and placed it in the fridge to chill. I plated cubed watermelon in a soup bowl with basil, minced habanero, lemon oil and freshly cracked black pepper.

6 thoughts on “Chilled Heirloom Tomato Soup with Watermelon, Basil, Habanero

  1. wow, that looks awesome!
    did you poach the tomato before peeling?
    is it better with extra ripe or less ripe watermelon?
    maybe little watermelon sorbet balls for extra chill?
    have you tried it with feta?
    maybe canteloupe?
    i’m so trying this at home, summer’s just starting in new zealand 🙂
    -r

  2. hi ramy! i put the tomatoes in boiling water for like a minute just to get the peel off. but i realized later i could have just blended then sieved it. love the watermelon sorbet idea! or how about even extra smooth and coolfeta mousse? i would need a pacojet for that though. i love the combination of feta and watermelon. aw i’m so jealous you guys have summer now!

Leave a Reply

