Leek Bacon Comte Tart

P1020514

This tart came about one cold winter day. I was actually sick during that time and had lost my sense of smell and taste. But instilled with an urge to cook. Perhaps it was all the laying about doing not a single thing.  If I woke up tomorrow minus my ability to taste I would be thrown into turmoil, stripped of life meaning.  How I longed for the aroma of sizzling bacon and leeks cooking in butter. Thank goodness my sickness was only temporary. The day after I made the tart I was fully able to taste again. Hooray. Sweet leeks, nutty comte and smokey bacon topped the homemade Zuni Cafe rough puff pastry. The house smelled absolutely wonderful to everyone’s pleasure.

6 thoughts on “Leek Bacon Comte Tart

  1. Very similar tart to be found in the Sunday Suppers at Lucques cookbook which I believe your brother is working through. One you get the basic crust + cheese + goodies technique you can do this tart a billion different ways. Surprisingly not at all like pizza, although I realize my description makes it sound like that.

Leave a Reply

